Free AI website chat benchmark

Free AI website chat plans compared by conversations/month.

This page converts free AI chat, message, credit, and trial allowances into estimated visitor conversations per month.

Benchmark maintained by Stand Chat. Sources linked below. The full benchmark was checked June 21, 2026; revised rows show their newer check date.

Benchmark

Free AI chatbot plans, normalized to conversations/month.

Rows sort alphabetically A-Z by product name. A check in Free tier means recurring free AI use, not only a trial or one-time starter amount.

Main table criteria

Hosted website chat. Self-serve signup. Public free plan. Recurring AI allowance. Clear enough free usage data to compare, or a viable hosted free plan marked not comparable.

Below-table criteria

One-time or trial AI allowance, beta or unclear availability, unclear counted unit, not primarily website chat, or product flow too unclear to verify.

ProductBotpressChecked June 21, 2026
Free tier
Free AI chats per monthNot comparable*
Free limit counted by product500 monthly incoming messages/events, plus $5 monthly AI token credit. Bot replies do not count as incoming events.
Other free-plan limits1 bot. 1 seat. 1,000 table rows. 100 MB vector storage. 100 MB file storage. No human handoff. Botpress branding.
No credit card requiredNot stated on pricing page
No AI API key required
What happens at the limitAt 500 incoming events, workspace bots stop responding until the monthly reset. If the $5 AI credit is used, AI actions stop until reset. Either can leave an active conversation unfinished.
ProductChatbaseChecked August 23, 2026
Free tier
Free AI chats per month≤5-10*
Free limit counted by product50 monthly message credits. Each AI response uses at least 1 credit; some models use up to 6.
Other free-plan limits1 AI agent. 1 member. 1 MB training content. Limited models. 0 AI Actions. No human live chat. Chatbase branding. Agents deleted after 14 days inactive.
No credit card required
No AI API key required
What happens at the limitWhen the 50 message credits are used, the AI stops replying until the monthly reset. This can leave an active conversation unfinished.
ProductDocuyondChecked June 21, 2026
Free tier
Free AI chats per month20-40*
Free limit counted by product200 monthly AI replies. An AI reply is one answer sent by the bot.
Other free-plan limits5 documents max. Basic docs ingestion. Basic support only. No support escalation or self-learning on free plan.
No credit card required
No AI API key required
What happens at the limitNot stated on public page. Because the unit is AI replies, the final included reply can occur during an active conversation.
ProductElfsightChecked August 23, 2026
Free tier
Free limit counted by product50 monthly visitor messages. AI replies do not count. A separate traffic limit also applies.
Other free-plan limitsTraffic cap: 200 widget loads/month across all AI Chatbot widgets and websites. Each page load counts even if the visitor does not open chat. 1 chatbot. 10M character knowledge-base storage. No human live chat. Elfsight branding.
No credit card required
No AI API key required
What happens at the limitReaching either the visitor-message or widget-view limit deactivates the chatbot. Visitors do not see it again until the next usage reset or an upgrade.
ProductHelpJetChecked June 21, 2026
Free tier
Free AI chats per month10-20*
Free limit counted by product100 monthly interactions. In-app usage says customer-chat interactions are bot replies; account testing counted 6 bot replies as 6 interactions.
Other free-plan limits1 AI bot. HelpJet branding. Interactions shared with Help Scout Assist suggestions. No human live chat inbox.
No credit card required
No AI API key required
What happens at the limitFree-account behavior at 100 interactions is not stated. FAQ says service keeps running with paid overage; users can set a hard monthly cap.
ProductStand ChatChecked August 22, 2026
Free tier
Free AI chats per month65*
Free limit counted by product15 weekly full conversations. A conversation is one visitor chat, even if the AI sends several replies.
Other free-plan limitsNo page-view or widget-load cap. 90-day chat history. 12,000 char prompt limit. 1 website knowledge base with up to 10 indexed web pages. Stand branding.
No credit card required
No AI API key required
What happens at the limitNew chats are not offered until the weekly reset. Active chats are not cut off.
Producttawk.toChecked June 21, 2026
Free tier
Free AI chats per month10-20*
Free limit counted by product100 monthly AI Assist message credits. Each AI Assist message sent uses 1 credit. Human live chat is unlimited.
Other free-plan limits1 AI chat agent. 100 crawled web pages. No automatic AI-to-human handoff on free AI plan.
No credit card required
No AI API key required
What happens at the limitWhen the 100 free AI messages are used, AI stops generating responses, including mid-conversation. New chats go to human agents.

Calculation notes

AI chats means estimated visitor conversations where the AI sends 5-10 replies. An asterisk links to the row-specific calculation.

Stand Chat
15 chats/week converts to about 65/month using 15 x 52 / 12. Stand counts full visitor conversations, not message bubbles.
Chatbase
50 monthly message credits converts to at most 5-10 conversations/month using the one-credit-per-response minimum and the 5-10 AI replies per conversation standard. Models that use more credits per response yield fewer conversations.
tawk.to
tawk.to AI Assist Hobby is free and includes 100 monthly message credits. Each AI Assist message deducts 1 credit. That converts to 10-20 conversations/month using the 5-10 AI replies per conversation standard.
Docuyond
200 monthly AI replies converts to 20-40 conversations/month using the 5-10 AI replies per conversation standard. The pricing page labels the listed prices as early-adopter pricing.
Botpress
Botpress combines incoming message/event limits with a monthly dollar AI budget. Bot replies do not count as incoming events, but AI work consumes the monthly $5 AI token credit. The pricing page does not provide enough information to convert this into a reliable conversation count.
Elfsight
Elfsight is the only product in this benchmark with a separate published widget-load cap. Its 50-message allowance gives a message-based ceiling of about 5-10 conversations, but Free also allows only 200 widget loads/month—fewer than 7 per day in a 30-day month. Each widget-bearing page load counts even if nobody opens chat, so the traffic limit can bind first.
HelpJet
HelpJet lists 100 monthly interactions. The public pricing page does not define interaction, but in-app usage describes customer-chat interactions as bot replies and account testing counted six bot replies as six interactions. That converts to 10-20 conversations/month using the 5-10 AI replies per conversation standard.

Checked but excluded

Products checked but not used in the main ranking.

These products were checked but kept out of the main table because the free AI allowance is one-time, trial-like, beta, or not defined clearly enough to convert to monthly conversations.

ProductSocialShare.AIChecked June 21, 2026
Why excludedFree chatbot plan exists, but the product is labeled beta and has a 10-message conversation cap.
Free-plan detailsPricing lists 100 messages/month, 2 domains, 7-day chat history, default styling, no transcripts, and SocialShare.AI branding. Manual review found a 10-message conversation cap.
ProductTidioChecked August 23, 2026
Why excludedFree plan exists, but recurring free AI does not.
Free-plan detailsFree plan includes 50 monthly billable human-support conversations. Lyro AI is 50 conversations once, not a monthly reset.
ProductWonderchatChecked June 21, 2026
Why excludedFree-plan wording conflicts with lifetime-trial wording.
Free-plan detailsPricing card shows about 10 resolutions/month and 20 credits. FAQ says every signup gets 20 free messages until they run out.

Method

A provider's free number is only useful after you know what gets counted. Some products count whole conversations. Some count AI replies. Some count visitor messages. Some use credits or dollar budgets.

The table above normalizes every product to included free AI chats per month where the pricing page makes that possible.

Products are omitted if the hosted bot or self-serve signup flow could not be verified during review.

Conversion standard: one useful website conversation usually takes 5-10 AI-generated replies. When a product counts messages instead of conversations, this page converts the free allowance to a conversation range by dividing the monthly message allowance by 10 and 5.

Message limits

Why message limits are hard to compare.

Some products count AI messages. Some count visitor messages. Some count conversations or resolutions. Some count credits or dollars.

A 50-message monthly plan is not 50 real conversations. Using the 5-10 AI-replies standard, 50 AI messages is only about 5-10 conversations/month.

A one-time starter amount is different from a recurring free tier. Tidio's first 50 Lyro conversations are a starter amount that does not refresh. Weekly or monthly free tiers refresh on their published schedule.

Credit and AI-spend products are harder again. Botpress says AI Spend depends on token usage, so conversation cost depends on model choice, prompt size, retrieval, and workflow design.

Counting method

Why full-conversation limits are easier to understand.

A visitor conversation is the thing a business owner recognizes. Message limits are harder because one serious buyer may ask many follow-up questions.

One chat maps to one real website conversation.
Message-counted products can run out faster when visitors ask follow-up questions.
A shorter reset period recovers faster after the free amount is used.

End of quota

What happens when the free AI limit is reached?

The end-of-quota behavior matters as much as the free number.

Message-counted bots

Once message credits run out, AI replies can stop until reset. If the product counts individual messages, an active conversation can be left unfinished.

Conversation-counted plans

Once the free conversation quota is used, new AI chats usually pause until the next reset.

Live-chat-first products

Human live chat may remain available even after AI usage runs out. Check whether AI-to-human handoff is included on the free plan.

When free is not enough

Estimated monthly cost at 50, 150, 500, and 1,500 chats.

These are conversation/month targets. Message-credit products use 5-10 AI replies per chat, so costs become ranges. Elfsight prices use its message allowance; its separate widget-view cap can require a higher tier.

ProductStand ChatChecked August 22, 2026
Billing unitFull visitor conversations
50 chats/mo$0
150 chats/mo$10
500 chats/mo≈$45
1,500 chats/mo≈$145
BasisFree plan covers about 65/month. Paid plan is $10 for 150/month, then $0.10/chat.
ProductChatbaseChecked August 23, 2026
Billing unitAI answers sent by the bot
50 chats/mo$32+
150 chats/mo$35.33–$65.33+
500 chats/mo$105.33–$160+
1,500 chats/mo$260–$400+
BasisAnnual-billed monthly equivalents from the shared pricing model. Uses 5-10 AI responses/chat at the one-credit-per-response minimum and rounds recharges to whole 1,000-credit packs across the full year; higher-credit models cost more.
ProductDocuyondChecked June 21, 2026
Billing unitAI replies sent by the bot
50 chats/mo$29
150 chats/mo$29
500 chats/mo$29
1,500 chats/mo$79+
BasisFree covers 200 replies/month. Standard covers 5,000 replies/month. Pro covers 10,000 replies/month. Overage above Pro is not stated.
ProductWonderchatChecked June 21, 2026
Billing unitCompleted support answers and AI credits
50 chats/mo$124
150 chats/mo$124
500 chats/mo$124
1,500 chats/mo$417
BasisAnnual-billed prices. Uses Wonderchat published resolution estimates, not only credits.
Producttawk.to AI AssistChecked August 22, 2026
Billing unitAI answers sent by the bot
50 chats/mo≈$29
150 chats/mo≈$29–$59
500 chats/mo≈$89–$99
1,500 chats/mo≈$189–$399
BasisMonth-to-month prices from the shared pricing model. Uses 5-10 AI answers/chat and rounds excess usage to whole 1,000-credit top-up packs. Core live chat remains free.
ProductTidio LyroChecked August 23, 2026
Billing unitAI conversations handled by Lyro
50 chats/mo$39
150 chats/mo$110
500 chats/mo$350
1,500 chats/moCustom
BasisMonth-to-month prices from the shared comparison data. Annual billing starts at $32.50/month equivalent for 50 Lyro conversations. Above 1,000 is custom.
ProductBotpressChecked June 21, 2026
Billing unitMessages/events into the bot plus AI budget
50 chats/mo$0 + AI Spend
150 chats/mo$20+ + AI Spend
500 chats/mo$20+ + AI Spend
1,500 chats/mo$40-$60+ + AI Spend
BasisIncoming-event add-ons are $20 per extra 5,000. Botpress says AI Spend cannot be reliably forecast from the pricing page.
ProductElfsightChecked August 23, 2026
Billing unitMessages typed by visitors
50 chats/mo$4-$8 by messages
150 chats/mo$8-$16 by messages
500 chats/mo$16-$24 by messages
1,500 chats/mo$32-$48 by messages
BasisMinimum annual-billed prices from visitor-message allowances alone. Separate widget-load caps can require a higher tier: Basic 5,000/month, Pro 50,000, Premium 150,000, Enterprise T1 300,000, T2 600,000, and T3 1,200,000; only T4 has unlimited views.
ProductHelpJetChecked June 21, 2026
Billing unitBot replies and Help Scout Assist suggestions
50 chats/mo$29
150 chats/mo$29-$59
500 chats/mo$74-$149
1,500 chats/mo$224-$449
BasisFree covers 100 interactions/month. Pro is $29/month for 1,000 interactions, then about $30 per 1,000 extra interactions.

Self-hosted

Self-hosted alternatives are possible, but not free hosted chat.

Self-hosting can be the right choice when control matters more than setup time.

RouteOpen-source chatbot software
What you getYou can run chatbot software yourself, connect a model provider, and embed your own widget.
CompromiseYou still manage LLM API keys, rate limits, abuse controls, prompt safety, hosting, backups, and updates.
RouteKnowledge-retrieval framework plus custom widget
What you getYou control retrieval, prompts, logs, and data location.
CompromiseYou build the web widget, auth, analytics, human handoff, and quota handling yourself.
RouteLocal model hosting
What you getYou can avoid external LLM APIs for some use cases.
CompromiseYou trade hosted API keys for GPU cost, latency, model quality, and operations work.

FAQ

Common questions.

What does "included free AI chats per month" mean?

It is the estimated number of visitor conversations the free plan can handle with AI in a month. When a product counts messages, the estimate uses 5-10 AI replies per conversation.

Why use 5-10 AI replies as the standard conversation length?

Short website chats may need about five AI replies. More serious buyer or support conversations often need closer to ten. A range is more honest than one fake average.

Do free AI website chat tools require a credit card?

Some do not, some only say no card for a trial, and some do not state it clearly on the pricing page. The benchmark marks this separately.

Do free AI website chat tools require an OpenAI API key?

The hosted products in this table do not require the customer to bring an OpenAI or other AI model API key for the listed hosted plans.

Which products have recurring free AI usage?

Botpress, Chatbase, Docuyond, Elfsight, HelpJet, Stand Chat, and tawk.to publish recurring free AI usage. Products with one-time, trial, beta, or unclear AI allowances are listed separately below the main table.

What is the difference between free live chat and free AI chat?

Free live chat lets a human answer visitors. Free AI chat lets an AI answer visitors inside a free allowance. Some products offer one without much of the other.

What happens when a free AI allowance runs out?

It varies. Some tools stop AI replies until reset, some stop only new chats, some leave human live chat available, and some do not state the behavior clearly.

Why are some rows not converted to one clean number?

A clean conversion would be misleading when the product counts several things at once, such as incoming events plus AI dollar spend.

Which free plan is most generous?

It depends on the unit. A full-conversation quota is easier to compare. Message-counted plans can look generous until visitors ask follow-up questions.

How often should I re-check these numbers?

Before choosing a product. Pricing pages change, and AI quotas are especially likely to move.

Comparison provided by Stand Chat

Stand Chat includes about 65 full AI website chats per month, no credit card, no AI API key, and human takeover.